TSG reveals CU15G Best XI, Awards

CONCACAF U-15 Girls' Championship award winners gather for photo at the closing ceremony on August 21, 2016, in Orlando, Florida.

ORLANDO, Florida – Following the United States’ 2-0 win over Canada in the 2016 CONCACAF U-15 Girls’ Championship (CU15G) final on Sunday at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex, the Technical Study Group announced the tournament’s Best XI and presented awards.

The CU15G selection contains players from each of the four semifinalists: six players from the champion United States, three from runner-up Canada, as well as one each from Costa Rica and Mexico.

Here’s a look at the team:

2016 CONCACAF Under-15 Women’s Championship

Best XI

Goalkeeper: Ruth Jones (United States)

Right Back: Camila Capmany (Costa Rica)

Center Back: Leah Scarpelli (United States)

Center Back: Maya Antoine (Canada)

Left Back: Julianne Vallerand (Canada)

Right Midfielder/Winger: Samantha Meza (United States)

Center Midfielder: Croix Bethune (United States)

Center Midfielder: Mia Fishel (United States)

Center Midfielder: Dania Perez (Mexico)

Left Midfielder/Winger: Gabrielle Robinson (United States)

Forward: Jordyn Huitema (Canada)



Golden Ball

Mia Fishel, USA


Golden Boot

Payton Linnehan, USA (eight goals)


Golden Glove

Ruth Jones, United States


Fair Play Award




Under 15s - Girls
Fishel, U.S. U15 girls look to make their own futures
Under 15s - Girls
U.S. tops Canada for CU15G title
Under 15s - Girls
CU15G Recap: August 21, 2016 (Third Place Match)
Under 15s - Girls
Costa Rica’s Marin appreciates CU15G experience
Under 15s - Girls
Costa Rica emphasizes learning, development at CU15G